UBBFriend: Email This Page to Someone!
  Castle Quest
  Comments And Suggestions
  Spyware

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
profile | register | preferences | faq | search

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   Spyware
castleuk
Member
posted 07-07-2002 05:28 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for castleuk   Click Here to Email castleuk     Edit/Delete Message
Warning everybody!
I know that COTW doesn't control what advertisements or popup's are shown but i know it can stop ones which COTW doesn't like.
Well i think this latest popup must be stop!
I thought my machine had been a bit funny of late, it wouldn't defrag, stopping all the time saying that something was running after i'd turned everything off i could.
I've been seeing this Gator popup when clicking on COTW but it goes away and there nothing in the program files so i ignored it.
So i loaded Lavasoft Ad-aware to check for spyware and they it was GATOR and WEB 3000 files.
THIS IS SPYWARE and COTW is the last place i would expect to get it!!!!!!!!
Stop this popup or i will have to stop using COTW.
This is the best castle forum on the web not a spy centre!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I will have to clean my machine again, this is silly!!!!!!
Chris

------------------
The castle location website
www.castleuk.net

Levan
Moderator
posted 07-09-2002 05:34 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Levan   Click Here to Email Levan     Edit/Delete Message
Are you sure you've picked-up the spy-stuff on CQ? I've been using it for years without any such problem.

Levan

Gordon
unregistered
posted 07-09-2002 07:02 PM           Edit/Delete Message
No pop ups when I come on.

castleuk
Member
posted 07-10-2002 01:49 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for castleuk   Click Here to Email castleuk     Edit/Delete Message
Hi Levan and Gordon
I've always clicked on the main COTW page and then gone to CQ, l'm now clicking straight to CQ now, the main page has the popup, not CQ.
It was the main page with the spyware, i checked a couple of times before writing the warning.
I was upset because i've just linked to CQ from my site but coming straight here is fine. I'm just keeping away from the main page! Chris

Peter
Moderator
posted 07-10-2002 04:17 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Peter   Click Here to Email Peter     Edit/Delete Message
Hi Chris,
my link is through the photo-page.
and I must admit that I have never seen a po-up. Thanx for the warning.

All times are PT (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

Administrative Options: Close Topic | Archive/Move | Delete Topic
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | Castles on the Web

Powered by: Ultimate Bulletin Board, Version 5.40
© Infopop Corporation (formerly Madrona Park, Inc.), 1998 - 1999.



Home
Introduction
Castle Quest
Site of the Day
Castle Tours
Castle Collections
New Sites
Hot Sites
Photo Archive
Miscellaneous
Castles for Kids
Castle Glossary
Palaces & Homes
Medieval Studies
Accommodations
Top Rated
Castle Postcards
Heraldry Links
Myths & Legends
Organizations
Castle Books
Abbeys & Churches
Weapons/Supplies
Random Site
Add Site
Modify Site
Acknowledgements
Search Options
Please Help Us!



Search for more Castles here:
Google

Castles on the Web Copyright 1995- | Privacy Policy